Hoagy Camichael


Here’s the track list of the soundtrack of Beginners, the upcoming drama movie directed by Mike Mills and starring Ewan McGregor, Christopher Plummer and Melanie Laurent:

Beginners Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Various artists
1. Stardust – Hoagy Camichael
2. Everything’s Made For Love – Gene Austin
3. Bach Suite – David Palmer, Roger Neill, Brian Reitzell
4. 1955 – David Palmer, Roger Neill, Brian Reitzell
5. Sweet Jazz Music – Jelly Roll Morton
6. That Da Da Strain – Mamie Smith
7. Mamanita – Jelly Roll Morton
8. Moon Waltz – David Palmer, Roger Neill, Brian Reitzell
9. Veronica’s Blues – David Palmer, Roger Neill, Brian Reitzell
10. Breezin’ Along with the Breeze – Josephine Baker
11. Beginners Theme Suite – David Palmer, Roger Neill, Brian Reitzell
12. Buddy Bertrand’s Blues – Jelly Roll Morton
Beginners Song - Beginners Music - Beginners Soundtrack

The original score work, “Beginner’s Suite”, was a true collaboration, mostly between Dave Palmer and Roger Niell, with Brian Reitzel. I remember trying to get something with the romanticism and dreaminess of a George Delarues score, but building it with the more simple notes and harmonies of Jelly Roll Morton’s “Buddy Bertrand’s Blues”. I don’t know if this really made any sense to Dave and Roger, but it’s a great experience watching them try things, taking turns on the piano, each suggesting this note not that one, a real transformative blend of Dave’s deep knowledge of blues piano and Roger’s classical ear, with Brian’s great instincts as all around band leader and producer — all recorded on a beautiful old Bluezner stand up piano that was a favorite of Henry Mancini’s.

Director Mike Mills

Listen to the songs of the soundtrack of Beginners below:

The movie soundtrack of Beginners will be released on May 31, 2011.